FindFunding_H

John Sealy Memorial Endowment Fund for Biomedical Research

Grant Award Programs

The John Sealy Memorial Endowment Fund for Biomedical Research (JSMEF) was established in 1984 by the Sealy & Smith Foundation.  The purpose of the endowment is to promote biomedical research at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB). The JSMEF supports the Sealy Centers of Excellence and the Sealy Grant Program. Since its inception, the Sealy Grant Program has received 1,415 applications and awarded 424 grants. For fiscal year 2011, the focus of the Sealy Grant Program is to support Research Pilot and Bridging Grants for UTMB Faculty Investigators.

The purpose of the Research Pilot Grant program is to stimulate the development of new research initiatives through the support of pilot projects that have a very high probability of attracting new biomedical research grants to UTMB. Applications from both new and established investigators are encouraged. JSMEF reviewers will recognize an investigator's NIH designation as a New Investigator (NI)/Early Stage Investigator (ESI). Applications from NI/ESI will be identified so that consideration of their career stage can be applied during the review.

The Bridging Grant Program is to assist UTMB Investigators whose unfunded federal grant applications (with a scheduled project period greater than or equal to two years in which we are allowed to recover our full F&A, e.g. R01 or equivalent, R21) have received favorable reviews and scores, and are eligible for resubmission. The Sealy Grant Program will "bridge" these proposals by providing a limited amount of funding for one year. The goal of the Sealy bridge funding is to allow the Investigator to carry out the work necessary for submission of a fundable grant application.

The purpose of the Data Acquisition Grant program is to stimulate the development of new research initiatives through the support of projects that have a very high probability of attracting new biomedical research grants to UTMB.

The Sealy Grant Programs are open to Investigators from all schools and departments at UTMB. Applications for both basic and clinical research are encouraged. A faculty member may simultaneously submit to any grant program provided the applications are significantly different; however, only one application can be funded.

Additional information can be found on the Instructions page or by contacting Ericia Huff, (409) 266-9433.

Bridging Grant Deadline:

Letter of intent due date - April 15, 2018
Application due date - May 30, 2018
Anticipated review date - July 25, 2018
Anticipated funding period - August 1, 2018 to July 31, 2019

data acquisition Grant Deadline:

Application due date - May 30, 2018
Anticipated review date - July 25, 2018
Anticipated Funding Period - August 1, 2018 to July 31, 2019

research pilot Grant Deadline:

At this time, we are not accepting pilot applications.


John Sealy Memorial Endowment fund for biomedical research
GRANT REVIEW AND OVERSIGHT GROUP
Nisha J. Garg, PhD, Chair Microbiology & Immunology nigarg@utmb.edu
Oscar Suman, PhD Surgery oesuman@utmb.edu
Thomas B. Mendez, PhD School of Nursing tbmendez@utmb.edu
Jeffrey R. Temple, MD OB/Gyn jetemple@utmb.edu
Rebeca Wong, PhD Preventive Medicine and
Community Health
rewong@utmb.edu
M. Firoze Khan, PhD Pathology mfkhan@utmb.edu
Kyung Choi, PhD Biochemistry & Molecular Biology kychoi@utmb.edu
Douglas J.
Paddon-Jones, PhD
Nutrition and Metabolism djpaddon@utmb.edu
Min Kyung Yi, PhD Microbiology & Immunology miyi@utmb.edu
Jonathan D. Hommel, PhD Pharmacology jdhommel@utmb.ledu
Shao-Jun Tang, PhD Neuroscience & Cell Biology shtang@utmb.edu

Committee Staff:
David Niesel, PhD Provost Administration dniesel@utmb.edu
Toni D’Agostino, MBA Research Administration todagost@utmb.edu
Connie Barton, CRA Research Services-
Office of Sponsored Programs
cjbarton@utmb.edu
Ericia Huff, CRA Research Services-
Office of Sponsored Programs
ehuff@utmb.edu