Global web ALERT button

Foundation Funding Opps - Multiple Level

Feb 28, 2019, 18:00 PM by Melodi Moore
Rheumatology Research Foundation
Education and Training Awards 

Fellowship Training Award - Workforce Expansion
Support for the training of a promising rheumatology fellow at an institution that has previously been unable to fill all of their ACGME-approved slots due to funding constraints or creation of a new slot or program.

Amgen Fellowship Training Award
Support for the training of a promising rheumatology fellow.

Paula de Merieux Fellowship Training Award
Support for the training of a promising rheumatology fellow who is an underrepresented minority or a woman.

Clinician Scholar Educator Award
Support for rheumatology professionals seeking to develop a career in education and training.

Pediatric Visiting Professorship
Support for a board-certified professor of pediatric rheumatology to visit an academic institution that lacks expertise in the field.

Health Professional Online Education Grant
A grant to complete the Advanced Rheumatology Course or the Fundamentals of Rheumatology Course

All applications due:  May 1, 2019


Myelodysplastic Syndromes (MDS) Research Fund
The fund will facilitate the advancement of innovative basic science, translational or clinical research and will accept proposals of two types:

Early Career Awards: Eligible investigators who are less than 5 years from completion of fellowship training or post-doctoral program at the time of award and/or have not previously been awarded an RO1 grant or its equivalent.

Established Investigator Awards: Eligible investigators who are 5 or more years from completion of fellowship training or post-doctoral program, or applicants who have previously received an Early Career Award from the foundation or an RO1 grant or its equivalent.

Deadline: March 22, 2019

Rockwell Fund
 The Rockwell Fund seeks to promote positive community change in the greater Houston area.

To that end, the fund is accepting applications from community-based providers and health centers working to increase the availability of and access to physical and behavioral healthcare for uninsured and underinsured populations; advance an innovative approach to community health; address the social determinants of health; and/or leverage existing resources to expand their reach. For organizations or programs focused on substance abuse, the fund is interested in interventions that target the co-occurring conditions of mental health and substance abuse.

The fund provides general operating, program, and capacity building and planning/evaluation support. Grant size depends on the project. 

LOI Submissions deadlines: 3/29/2019

Grant Proposal Submissions deadlines: 4/26/2019

Robert Woods Johnson
The Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program was established by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to increase the number of faculty from historically disadvantaged backgrounds who are pursuing senior rank in academic medicine, dentistry, or nursing and who can serve as a model for others from similar backgrounds. The program defines the term "historically disadvantaged" to mean the challenges facing individuals because of their race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and similar factors.

Through the program, the foundation will make four-year postdoctoral research awards to physicians, dentists, and nurses from historically disadvantaged backgrounds who are committed to advancing their careers and achieving senior rank in their field; fostering the development of future leaders within their field; improving the heath of underserved populations; and/or working toward understanding and eliminating health disparities by achieving senior rank in academic medicine, dentistry, or nursing.

Application Deadline: March 19, 2019 (3 p.m. ET)

Neilsen FoundationThe Craig H. Neilsen Foundation has been committed to improving the lives of those impacted by spinal cord injuries. Inspired by its founder, Craig H. Neilsen, who suffered from a high-level spinal cord injury for more than twenty years (until his death in 2006), the foundation supports organizations that are driving creative scientific research, education, training, and innovative programming for those impacted by spinal cord injuries.

In 2020, a number of research awards will be offered:

PSR Postdoctoral Fellowships — Early-career researchers interested in specializing in spinal cord injuries. Applicants must have a mentor who is experienced in spinal cord injury-related psychosocial research and have attained a terminal degree within the past five years.

PSR Pilot Grants — Awarded to pilot studies designed to test the feasibility of innovative methods, procedures, or data collection with the potential to lead to a larger-scale study.

PSR Studies and Demonstration Projects — Awarded to substantive studies that facilitate, expand, or improve practices that impact those living with spinal cord injuries, including studies that fill critical gaps, open new areas of research, or develop or evaluate interventions.

Letter of Intent (LOI) Submission Due via proposalCENTRAL:
March 25, 2019 5:00 pm EST

Full Grant Application (FGA) Submission Due via proposalCENTRAL:
July 22, 2019 5:00 PM (Eastern Time)